Audacity 1.3: Project saving and recovery
Starting in version 1.3.2, Audacity automatically saves snapshots of your current project constantly. If Audacity ever crashes, or if your whole computer crashes or suddenly loses power, the next time you start Audacity it will notify you that it found an unsaved project, and prompt you to recover it.
One common source of confusion with Audacity is that when you open or import an uncompressed file (e.g. WAV or AIFF), Audacity by default saves time and memory by only linking to the file, not copying it. But if you move, rename or delete the original file, your Audacity project will not work anymore. Starting with version 1.3.2, Audacity prompts the first time you save your project, and on exiting, if the project depends on other audio files. If there is a dependency, Audacity gives you the option of copying the required files into the project, making it self-contained.